Style

How to Shop Smart


I have always loved to shop. Even when I was a little girl, I would spend hours imagining what it would be like to own the dress the actress in the movie was wearing. I was always attracted to the colors and the scent of new dresses kept pulling me towards them.

Not a thing has changed even today. The only difference is now, instead of going to shops, I go to the online stores. But the feeling remains the same.

Every time I look at a site, I like a certain item that steals my heart. And I am proud to say that I have never regretted my purchases. I do invest a lot of time searching for the perfect items to add to my closet, just like my good old days. And the search pays off when I actually wear the items I choose.

But with the plethora of options present with us, what do we do when we need to choose? What should we choose and how much should you pay for an item? It is confusing, I understand. And this is why I am putting together this post.  Five things to shop smart.

  1. Wishlist All, Buy Few

Every time I like an item, I add it to my wishlist, and I am off to hunt for another item. I never buy an item on an impulse. I browse through the other items on the site, and add everything I like to the wishlist. once I feel that I have looked through everything that I like, I go to my wishlist, and look though what I have added. This gives me a better picture of what all the items look like in comparison with each other. You may find two of the items look better than all the rest. So you can remove all of those, and just keep the ones you really like.

2. Buffer Time

After adding the items to my wishlist, I give myself a week. I check if I crave the item that I have shortlisted. I also look through my wardrobe and try to understand if any of the pieces I already have will go with the wishlisted items. After a week, if I see that I still love that item, and find ways to incorporate it in my daily outfits, I go and buy it. This shopping strategy has worked for me over the years. I certainly own a lot of items, but the cool-down period of a week that I give myself helps me really make the apt decision.

3.Office/Casual

I do not have strict sections in formal and informal clothing. Everything that I wear casually, I can transform into formals. That is what I look for while buying the clothes. Will it work as both office and casual wear? If the answer is yes, I buy that item.

I do know that certain items cannot be turned into formal wear, like a blue denim. So there are a few items that I let go and buy even if they don’t go both ways. For example, polo tees, v-neck tees, denims, and so on.

But the items like a camisole top, or a plaid shirt is something that can easily transform into a formal wear with the help of a blazer or a cardigan.

4. Shop Sales

This may seem like a no-brainer, but lot of us spend a lot on an item we like if we buy it immediately. I used to do that. But now I only buy an item if it has a certain discount. The sites like Amazon, Myntra and Jabong always have discounts going on, so it is not really difficult to find the item you like for a little cheaper.

5. Research

Most of the online shopping sites such as Myntra, Jabong, Amazon, Flipkart, and so on, have many brands in common. For example, Only, Vero Moda, United colors of Benetton (UCB), Forever New, Wrangler, Nike, Reebok and even Indian brands like Melange, Biba, W, and so on. If you like a certain item at one place, visit other sites to know if you can get the same item at cheaper price. I personally feel that Jabong and Myntra are the sites you will find the items at most reasonable price. It never hurts to look. 🙂

I hope you found these tips helpful. If you have any tips and tricks or if you have any questions, do let me know in the comments below.

Keep shopping!

 

 

Leave a comment